Including the chair, the three members of the Budget Responsibility Committee (BRC) are appointed by the Chancellor of the Exchequer with the consent of the Treasury Select Committee. Appointments are for 5 years and no member can serve more than two terms.

For more information, please refer to section (1) to (6) of Schedule 1 of the Budget Responsibility and National Audit Act.

Richard Hughes (chair), Prof. David Miles CBE and Andy King are serving their first terms. Their letters of appointment can be found on our Governance and reporting page.